You are on page 1of 6


Written by pentadbir
Friday, 07 April 2006

Unit Functions

Accreditation Unit

1. Operating the Malaysian Certification System (MOSQ) by monitoring the

implementation of skills trainings:

•Arranging for EVO verification visits.

• Ensuring that the quality standard at Accredited Centres are not breached (personnel,
equipment and learning materials).
• Updating all information on accreditation system.

2. Handling of registration and issuance of certificates by accreditation, tests and Prior

Achievements Accreditation (PAA).

3. Handling and managing of National Skills Tests for Accredited Centres, including
among others:

•Organising the registration of candidates for SKM NDT Tests.

• Organising meetings for NDT Tests Panels.
• Arranging for the appointment of Duty Officers for NDT Tests
• Implementing SKM NDT Tests.
• Organising for the printing and delivery of certificates, wallet card, result slips.

4. Provision of advisory and information services as well as carrying out promotional

activities on the administration of certification process to applicants, public and private
training institutions, industries and the general public.

5. Organising Skills Competition at national and international level.

Functions of Skills Certificate Unit

1. Implementing Certification System by Prior Achievement Accreditation (PAA) for

skilled employees, including among others:

Processing applications for Prior Achievement Accreditation (PAA).
• Organising appointments and PAAA assignments to implement skill evaluation process
by PAA method.
• Organising the appointment and assignment of External Verifiers (EV) to implement
verification/certification duties on skills assessment by PAA method.

2. Evaluate and certify skills of foreign workers who have been employed in Malaysia for
five years and intend to extend their work permits.

• Processing the applications of Foreign Workers Skills Certificate.

• Managing the appointment of Assessment Officers who are to conduct the evaluation of
skills competencies of foreign workers.
• Organising visits for the evaluation of the foreign workers' skill competencies.
• Managing the release of evaluation results and Foreign Workers Skills Certificates.

3. Coordinating the process of induction courses for foreign workers abroad.

• Processing applications for Foreign Workers Induction Courses at the country of origin
through the Malaysian Training Provider (MTP).
• Coordinating sets of questions meant for foreign workers induction courses tests.
• Certifying the results of tests conducted by MTP on the foreign workers induction
• Handling of applications for the issuance of Certificate of Eligibility certificates.

Malaysian Skills Certification

The Malaysian Skills Certification was introduced by the Department of Skills

Development (DSD) in 1993 and is made up of five levels as follows:

• Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 1

• Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 2
• Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 3
• Malaysian Skills Diploma (DKM) Level 4
• Malaysian Skills Advanced Diploma (DLKM) Level 5

The Malaysian Skills Certification is implemented based on the National Occupational

Skills Standard (NOSS) where every candidate is assessed and certified to meet the
requirements of NOSS before being awarded the Malaysian Skills Certification.

There are three ways of earning the Malaysian Skills Certification:

I. Accreditation through recognised training institutions.

By going through training programmes at DSD Accredited Training Centres for

specific field
and level of study that has been accredited.

II. Accreditation through industry (Dual Nasional Training System)

By way of apprenticeship conducted within an industry and at public skills training


III. Prior Achievement Accreditation

Earning Malaysian Skills Certification by virtue of past experience (employment or

training) without the need to sit for any tests. Candidates, however, are required to
furnish proof of competency for assessment by Evaluating Officers and verified by
External Verification Officers appointed by DSD.

Benefits of Malaysian Skills Certification

Among the benefits of the Malaysian Skills Certification are:

•Malaysian Skills Certification is recognised by Malaysian industries.

• Malaysian Skills Certification provides an exciting career path and personal development
comparable with that of an academic qualification-based career path.
• Malaysian Skills Certification has the capability to produce a skilled worker trained and
qualified to raise the competitiveness of local industries at the global market.

Qualification Requirements For Enrollment With The Malaysian Skills Certification

The minimum qualification requirements for enrollment to the Malaysian Certification, by

means of accreditation, are:

•Able to read and write in Bahasa Melayu and English; and

• possesses a lower level SKM prior to attempting the next level of SKM in similar course
of study.
(However, the Accredited Centres reserved the rights of imposing qualifying conditions at
their respective centres.)

Malaysian Skills Certification Accredited Centres

Accredited centres refer to the providers of training courses duly approved by DSD to
carry out skill trainings and offer Malaysian Skills Certification for specific field and level
of skills based on National Occupational Skills Standard (NOSS). There are five
categories of Accredited Centres:

• Public Accredited Centres (K)

• Private Accredited Centres (L)
• Industrial Accredited Centres (I)
• Association Accredited Centres (P)
• NDT Accredited Centres (NDT)
Candidates may refer to the List of Accredited Centres provided on this site to get further
information on Accredited Centres and the latest skills training programmes certified by

Programmes Offered

Offered programmes are based on the National Occupational Skills Standard developed
(please refer to NOSS list). Skills available under the NOSS list are as follows:
No. Field
1 Precision Instruments
2 Construction Industry
3 Electrical
4 Audio & Video Electronics
5 Steel and Foundry Manufacturing
6 Plastics Industry
7 Agricultural Industry
8 Machinery & Land Transport
9 Machinery & Land Transport - Crane Operation
10 Woodworks & Furniture
11 Handicrafts
12 Plan Drafting
13 Maritime
14 Oil & Gas
15 Mechanical - Mechatronic
16 Mechanical - Production
17 Mechanical - Maintenance
18 Travel & Tours
19 Travel & Tours - Theme Parks
20 Motor Vehicle Assembly
21 Motorcycle Assembly
22 Aeronautic
23 Office Administration
24 Diving - Commercial
25 SCUBA Diving - Recreational
26 Hotel Industry
27 Personnel Services
28 Business & Finance
29 Business & Finance - Insurance
30 Welding Technology & Metal Fabrication
31 Information Technology - Computers
32 Information Technology - Multimedia
33 Information Technology - Telecommunications
34 Information & Communications Technology - Security
35 Steel Machining Technology
36 Printing Technology
37 Weaponry Technology
38 Textile & Garments
39 NDT - Non Destructive Tests
40 Security Services
41 Land Survey
The minimum durations of training set by DSD are as below:
Level Duration of Training
T1 600 hours
T1 & T2 1200 hours (1 year)
T3 only 1200 hours (1 year)
T1,T2 & T3 2400 hours (2 years) for SKPK field starting from Level T1
T2 600 hours for SKPK field NOT STARTING from Level T1
T2 & T3 1800 hours (1½ years) for SKPK field NOT STARTING from Level T1
T3 & DKM 2400 hours (2 years) + 3 months OJT
T2, T3 & DKM 3600 hours (3 years) + 3 months OJT
T1,T2, T3 & DKM 3600 hours (3 years) + 3 months OJT
T1,T2,T3,DKM & 5400 hours (4½ years) + 3 months OJT + 3 months OJT

DKM only 1200 hours + 3 months OJT for candidates with T3
DLKM only 1800 hours + 3 months OJT for candidates with DKM

Last Updated ( Monday, 07 April 2008 )